Here’s everything you need to know
Rice Krispies is a classic American breakfast cereal.
These crispy, crunchy rice cereals were first introduced in 1928.
Is Rice Krispies vegan?
Let’s read on to find out!
What is Rice Krispies Cereal?
Kellogg’s Rice Krispie cereal is almost 100 years old!
They first came on the market in 1928.
These are made from puffed rice, boiled, dried and roasted.
Then they have the shape of small berries.
They famously make the pops, crackles and pops when milk is added.
Rice Krispie Treats are a popular breakfast cereal.
This delicious bar is made from rice grain and melted marshmallows.
What’s in Rice Krispies Grains
According to Kellogg’s official website, they offer four Rice Krispies varieties, including:
Rice Krispies Original Cereal
Rice, sugar, salt and malt aroma.
Cocoa Krispies Cereal
Rice, sugar, cocoa, semisweet chocolate (sugar chocolate, dextrose), hydrogenated oil (coconut, soybean and/or cottonseed), salt and malt flavour; iron (ferritriphosphate); vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin A2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamine hydrochloride), vitamin folic acid, vitamin C3 and vitamin B12.
Frosted Krispies Cereal
Rice, sugar, salt and malt flavour. Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamine hydrochloride), vitamin B6 (pyridoxine), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamine hydroxychloride), folic acid, vitamin D3, vitamin B12, and vitamin D3.
Cookies & Cream Krispies Cereal
Rice, sugar, salt and rice flour.
Rice Krispies cereals contain no obvious animal ingredients (ie milk).
They contain vitamin D3, which is not suitable for vegans, even though none of the Rice Krispies cereals are made with animal ingredients (ie milk).
Is Rice Krispies vegan friendly?
Unfortunately, Rice Krispies cereals cannot be vegan because they contain Vitamin D3, an ingredient from Lanolin.
Lanolin is an oil typically extracted from sheep’s wool.
Why aren’t Rice Krispies vegan?
They are not vegan as they contain vitamin D3, which is clearly stated on the ingredient label.
Vitamin D3 comes from lanolin, an oil found in sheep’s wool.
Vitamin D2 can also be mentioned, a vitamin that comes from plants.
If you see vitamin D2 in the list, it may not be D2 or D3.
However, it is safe to assume it is D3, which is why it is not vegan.
You can also assume that the sugar is processed using bone char, which is most likely manufactured in the United States.
It’s not organic.
While Kellogg’s Rice Krispies is not vegan, other rice cereals can be.
Why is vitamin D3 not vegan?
There are two types of Vitamin D2 and Vitamin D3.
Vitamin D2 is usually found in mushrooms.
However, vitamin D3 is mostly synthesized from lanolin.
This is an oil extracted from wool-bearing animals such as sheep.
There is also a vegan vitamin D3, but it is not usually added to food.
This vitamin D3 is extracted from lichen, a plant that grew from the symbiotic relationship between algae and fungi.
Vitamin D2 is a common ingredient in many foods, but it is not vegan.
Unfortunately, Rice Krispies contain vitamin D3 from lanolin.
Vitamin D3: Is It Wrong?
Some believe that vitamin D3 can be safely consumed because it is added to grains in small amounts.
This does not mean that we are less vegan.
Many vegans disagree.
Vitamin D3, which is derived from lanolin, still mainly comes from an animal that is exploited for its wool.
So even if you consume vitamin D3, it still contributes to an industry that makes huge profits from animals having to live in conditioned conditions all their lives.
These animals also lose their natural ability to grow wool as they age.
Once they reach a certain age, they are sent to slaughterhouses to be killed and sold for meat.
Vegan, I do not consume vitamin D3 because I am aware that I would contribute to an industry that restricts the freedom of wool-bearing animals.
Rice Krispies: vegan alternatives
While it’s not always easy to find good vegan rice crispy treats, there are many great options.
Here are some delicious suggestions that are both useful and plant-friendly.
#1 Nature’s Path Organic Gluten Free Crispy Rice Grain
Nature’s Path Organic Crispy Rice Cereal can be vegan, gluten-free, USDA Organic Certified, kosher, and free of artificial flavors, colors, and preservatives.
It is made from simple, plant-based ingredients and is nutritious and delicious.
These are similar to Rice Krispy’s original taste and texture, making them a delicious, crunchy snack.
#2 Whole Foods Market Cereal Brown Rice Chips Organic
365 from Whole Foods Market is another great vegan breakfast that uses organic whole grain brown rice, organic cane syrup, and sea salt.
It is also completely gluten-free as it contains no barley.
However, organic ingredients can affect the taste, sometimes without sugar.
It tastes just as good with some honey, cinnamon, or maple syrup.
#3 Barbara’s Bakery Brown Rice Chips Cereal 10 Oz. Pack of 6
Barbara’s Bakery Brown Rice Crisps Cereal can be a vegan alternative.
It is only sold in six packs.
It contains organic whole brown rice, organic juice concentrate and sea salt.
The fruit juice is either pear juice or apple, depending on the taste.
These cereals have a sweetened taste and stay crispy for a long time.
Its crunchiness makes it hard to say that brown rice is the main ingredient.
#4 Onedeg Cereal Rice Crisp Brown, 8 Oz
Onedeg Cereal Rice Crisp brown is another great option.
These grains are made with organic sprouted brown and organic coconut palm sugar and unrefined salt and vitamin E.
They contain a disclaimer stating that they are made in a facility that uses wheat, soy, tree nuts, dairy and wheat.
Therefore, they are not recommended for people with severe or extremely sensitive allergies to these ingredients.
These cereals are great if you don’t have a problem.
It tastes almost as good as the original.
Is Rice Krispies Gluten Free?
The Rice Krispies are not gluten-free as they contain malt derived from barley, a grain that contains gluten.
Gluten-free products are usually marked with the word “malt”.
Is Rice Krispies dairy free?
Rice Krispies cereals mentioned in this article do not contain milk or milk derivatives, so they are dairy free.
Rice Krispies Cereals contain vitamin D3, a component made from lanolin (an oily substance extracted from sheep hair).
While some may argue that it’s okay to consume vitamin D3 in small amounts, the fact remains that vitamin D3 comes from animals.
This is how the Vegan Society defines veganism.
Veganism is a philosophy that aims to eliminate all forms of cruelty and exploitation of animals for food and clothing.
It also promotes animal-free alternatives for animals, people and the environment.
It is customary to avoid all products derived in whole or in part from animals.
This definition is the original.
Products containing vitamin D3 are not considered vegan.
This post Is Rice Krispies Vegan Friendly? Here’s The Truth! was original published at “https://fitgag.com/is-rice-krispies-vegan/”