Can vegans eat cinnamon toast crunch?
Cinnamon Toast Crunch might just be a childhood favorite.
It’s not clear if Cinnamon Toast Crunch can be made vegan.
We were shocked at the variety of information about the grain, including its vegan status.
We were surprised by the conflicting information regarding the vegan status of Cinnamon Toast Crunch.
Keep reading to learn the answer to the question: Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Vegan or Not?
What is cinnamon toast crunch?
Cinnamon Toast Crunch is a breakfast cereal that comes in a square shape and is coated with cinnamon flavor.
Cinnamon Toast Crunch is made with wheat and rice.
The taste is completed by the addition of cinnamon and sugar.
A Brief History of Cinnamon Toast Crunch
Science and marketing have made significant contributions to the history of breakfast cereal becoming mainstream.
Nestle and General Mills created the Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal.
This grain was first introduced in 1984.
The original version was a square plane with no cinnamon swirls.
Later, the pattern of cinnamon swirls was added to the squares.
It is known for its unique taste, which mimics the taste of cinnamon sugar toast and its square shape.
People liked the signature design, which was very different from other grains.
Elisabeth Trach was the original inventor of the grain.
The Cinnamon Toast Crunch is also famous for its animated mascot Chief Wendell (aka the Cinnamon Toast Baker).
The first mascots for the brand included three animated bakers, the most famous and recognized.
Initially, there was no slogan for the brand.
In 1995 it was “The Taste You Can See.”
In 2007 it became “It’s That Intense.”
The slogan changed to “Crave that crazy-square” in 2009.
It has remained unchanged to this day.
First appearing in telemarketing ads, mascots gradually made their way into product boxes due to customer demand.
Customers still associate the brand’s mascot with its products.
The Cinnamon Toast Crunch is known as Croque-Cannelle (French Canada) and Curiously Cinnamon (UK).
The Cinnamon Toast Crunch is a great breakfast cereal.
The Cinnamon Toast Crunch has conquered a place in the grain industry, without using luxury ingredients.
What makes the Cinnamon Toast Crunch so irresistible?
I’ll start with the basics.
What is cinnamon?
Cinnamon is a spice made from the dried inner bark tree Cinnamomum.
Cinnamon is mainly used as a fragrance and flavoring agent in foods.
It is known for its blood sugar lowering properties and potent antidiabetic effects.
Cinnamon Toast Crunch Ingredients
There is a lot of conflicting information about grains and their vegan status.
Cinnamon Toast Crunch claims it’s vegan food, but others claim otherwise.
It is best to look at the ingredients to determine if the product is vegan.
Below is a full list of all ingredients:
Whole Grain WheatRice FlourFructoseMaltodextrinDextroseSaltSugarCinnamonCaramel ColorSoy LecithinCanola OilPreservative BHT (Butylated Hydroxytoluene).Trisodium Phosphate
Vitamins & Minerals:
Folic Acid, Vitamin B Vitamin B1 (thiamine mononitrate) Zinc and Iron (nutrients). Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride). AB Vitamin (niacinamide) Vitamin B12 Vitamin A (palmitate) Vitamin B2 (riboflavin) Vitamin D3 Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate). Calcium Carbonate
Now let’s talk about the questionable ingredients.
Sugar: gray area. Sugar is controversial for vegans. When processed, non-organic sugar can be filtered with bone char. It’s not something vegans should avoid, but some people are fine with it. (Personally I am fine with sugar. Caramel Color Vegan. The caramel color does not resemble real caramel. It is a caramel color made from heated sugar, often from corn. VRG considers it vegan. Vitamin B12: Vegan. Vitamin B12: Vegan You may have heard that vitamin B12 is only available from animal products, but the B12 in supplements and fortified grains comes from bacteria.Vitamin D3: Gray Area Vitamin D3 can be made from vegan sources like lichen, but that’s unlikely. is usually obtained from lanolin (from sheep’s wool) so it is not vegan.Many vegans are not concerned about D3 because it is so small in their diet.This blog post contains my personal opinion.
As you can see, the vegan status of Cinnamon Toast Crunch is determined by how you feel about sugar and vitamins.
Some vegans can eat them. Others are not.
As a vegan, I’m okay with both ingredients.
I believe my efforts to swap milk from my cereal bowl for plant-based milks are sufficient.
I don’t believe boycotting vitamin D3 will make any difference.
Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Vegan?
Due to vitamin D3 (and vitamin B12) in the ingredients, Cinnamon Toast Crunch cannot be considered vegan.
It’s confusing and confusing, I know.
Let me help you understand.
Vitamin D3 is responsible in this case.
You may be curious about how vitamin C is extracted from animal by-products.
Vitamin D3 is derived from lanolin, a fatty substance and a by-product of sheep’s wool.
Cinnamon Toast Crunch contains Vitamin D3 as a supplement for fortification.
This is where we run into trouble with vegan products.
Vitamin D3 is found in the meat of fatty fish, fish liver oil and egg yolks.
Smaller amounts are found in cheese, egg yolks and beef liver.
Cinnamon Toast Crunch contains vitamin D3 and is therefore not vegan.
There are still many gray areas to keep in mind.
Vitamin B12, also on the ingredient list, is controversial.
Vitamin B12 is usually not found in plant foods.
However, it is commonly found in animal products such as fish, meat, poultry, eggs and milk.
There’s a lot to think about.
Vitamin B12 is found in many fortified foods, including grains.
The lack of labeling details and restrictions on proprietary information prevents us from knowing how to source certain ingredients in different products.
We will just have to accept what we know and see.
Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Dairy Free?
Cinnamon Toast Crunch contains no dairy.
However, keep in mind that Cinnamon Toast Crunch contains no dairy.
Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Made With Gelatin?
Cinnamon Toast Crunch does not contain gelatin.
Cinnamon Toast Crunch Treat Bars contain gelatin (and sometimes milk), but beware.
Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Vegetarian?
Cinnamon Toast Crunch can be eaten as a vegetarian.
Sugar and vitamin D are the only ingredients that can be considered gray areas from a vegan standpoint.
None of these ingredients should pertain to non-vegan vegetarians and Lacto-ovo vegans.
Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Healthy?
Cinnamon Toast Crunch contains over 12 grams of sugar in just one serving (about 41 g or 1 cup).
This is more than 25% of the total sugar content of the grains.
All sugars are not natural.
They contain sugar, fructose and maltodextrin.
Obviously, it’s a sugar bomb and likely played a major role in today’s childhood obesity epidemic in America.
Foods like a vegan brownie mixture are also unhealthy.
However, it is not something you should eat for breakfast.
Cinnamon Toast Crunch Vegan Alternatives
Many bowls of cereal offer better options than Cinnamon Toast Crunch.
With this in mind, I’ve put together a list of grains that are 100% vegan.
Barbara’s Original PuffinsCap’n Crunch’s Crunch BerriesKashi Organic Island VanillaBarbara’s Peanut Butter PuffinsNature’s Path Crunchy Maple SunriseCascadian Farm Organic Cinnamon CrunchNature’s Path Rice PuffinsBarbara’s Organic CornflakesQuaker Original LifeCap’n Crunch
Our Cinnamon Toast Crunch and Cinnamon Toast Crunch vegan?
This popular breakfast cereal contains more than one ingredient, making it unsuitable for those following a strict plant-based diet.
Homemade cereals are a good option.
They are healthier, more nutritious, taste better and, most importantly, they are 100% vegan.
You can order a set of vegan certified organic cookies to snack on if you are not a big fan of cooking.
There are many options, at least these days.
This post Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Vegan Friendly? Learn The Truth! was original published at “https://fitgag.com/is-cinnamon-toast-crunch-vegan/”