Home Health Tips Are Fruit Gushers Vegan? EXPLAINED!

Are Fruit Gushers Vegan? EXPLAINED!

Are Fruit Gushers Vegan? EXPLAINED!

Fruit Gushers are fruit snacks that are similar in taste to Fruit Roll-Ups.

The outer layer is soft and chewy with a fruit-flavored interior.

The juice comes out of the candy when you bite it, hence the name.

Gushers have an unusual shape, which actually has the elongated hexagonal tri-pyramid.

It’s quite a mouthful! The shape is not important to anyone but the unique taste and texture.

These candies are small and colorful and look like little gem-like nuggets.

These fruit snacks were first introduced by General Mills in 1991 and are sold under the Betty Crocker brand.

They have been available in many tropical flavors over the years.

Recently they were advertised as a new unidentified flavor item (UFO).

You get 6 packs in each box.

They are a great snack because they are colorful and appeal to almost anyone.

They are almost mom-approved for having the Betty Crocker snack label.

Betty Crocker is a name you may have heard of if you were born before 1960.

There are many varieties of Gushers, with different tropical and fruity flavors.

Some are sweet and sour, while others have sweet or spicy flavors.

Gushers combo packs can be purchased with Fruit By The Foot packs.

What ingredients are Fruit Gushers made of?

What are fruit gouges

Fruit Gushers’ full list of ingredients includes corn syrup and sugar, pear puree concentrate, and fructose.

Are Fruit Gushers Vegan?

We consider them vegan, as there are no obvious animal products in the gushers.

Gushers are not a healthy snack made from whole foods, but they fit the definition of veganism that seeks to eliminate animal cruelty and exploitation wherever possible.

Do Fruit Gushers Have Gelatin?

According to General Mill’s website, no gelatin is found in Gushers.

Distribution of the ingredients of Fruit Gushers

Are Gushers vegan?

Below are the ingredients for gushers, along with more information about each one’s vegan status.

This is the Strawberry Splash flavour.

It was taken from the General Mills website.

It is important to always check the ingredient lists from stores, as they can sometimes be out of date.

An asterisk* is placed next to ingredients of particular interest.

You will see that some of these ingredients are not from the United States, as you can see.

Unless an ingredient is a motivator for livestock farming, it’s best not to worry about it.

It does nothing to stop the animal suffering.

corn syrup

Corn syrup is a sweetener made from the starch of corn.

It is made using enzymes.

No animals are involved.


Sugar can be tricky because some sugars are filtered with bone char.

Many vegan groups agree that sugar in food products should not be a problem.

These products should not be avoided as they would cause animal suffering.

Most likely, the sugar manufacturers do not know whether the product is vegan.

pear puree

Self-explanatory! Pureed pears.

Modified corn starch

Certain enzymes are used to alter the viscosity and other functions of corn.


Sugar is in fruit.

While sugar is not part of whole fruits, it can be a problem for your health.


A food additive made from plant starch.

Palm oil

Trying to find out how veganism can be sustainable and healthy?

This starter kit is a great vegan option.

Due to its harvesting method, it can be considered a controversial ingredient.

However, the subject is complex and subjective.

We shouldn’t have to use so much land for livestock.

This would allow us to ethically produce these types of ingredients.

How far you want to go down this rabbit hole is your choice.

Like many others, I try to avoid palm oil as much as possible.


Most of glycerin comes from plants, but it is possible to get it from animals.

This is covered in more detail in our vegan chewing gum article.

Cottonseed oil

An oil made from the seeds of cotton plants.

Grape juice concentrate

This grape juice has had most of the water removed, making it a “concentrated form”.


Seaweed is used as a thickener.

Citric acid

Citric acid, which occurs naturally in citrus fruits, can be used as a preservative or flavoring agent.


This ingredient is used as an emulsifier.

It’s another controversial ingredient.

It can be of animal or vegetable origin.

It is unlikely that the company will help you as they do not know the cause of your problem.

We recommend that you don’t worry about it.

It is a minor ingredient and is not a major driver in livestock farming.

PETA agrees.

Sodium Citrate

It can be made from sodium bicarbonate and citric acid – it is not animal derived.

malic acid

It is extracted from plants and there are no concerns about its vegan status.

ascorbic acid

This is vitamin C.

Natural taste

Natural flavors may be any approved for use as a flavoring agent in food.

Sometimes it is difficult to trace the origin of a flavor, even if you contact the company.

We recommend that you don’t sweat, as is our stance on monoglycerides.

These ingredients are less likely to come from animals if fewer people buy animal products.

Potassium Citrate

It is the potassium salt of citric acids.

This one is not important.


A gelatin substitute made from algae.

This ingredient is a favorite of ours and we recommend using it to make your own jello.

Red 40

It is widely believed to be made from beetles, but it is made from coal.

This one is not something to worry about.

xanthan gum

A thickener is usually made by the fermentation of bacteria.

It’s not vegan.

Final words on Fruit Gushers veganism

Can fruit gouges eat vegans?

While some ingredients may not be as clear as others, we recommend not worrying about them.

It is best to help the planet and the animals by eliminating animal products from your diet (meat, eggs, dairy, gelatin, etc.).

This post Are Fruit Gushers Vegan? EXPLAINED! was original published at “https://fitgag.com/are-fruit-gushers-vegan/”